It was in the mid 1930s that the village received a supply of mains water
Mains electricity arrived in the 1940s
About the same time the phone box was erected next to the 'little bridge'
|
 |
The airfield was built on the site of Brinkworth Grange Farm and Scotch Farm
One of the last German aircraft to be brought down over Britain crashed into Dunnington Lodge
18 council houses were built after ww11
|
Many of the residents of The Willows were butchers
The Fox family were once residents of Derwent House and were Coal and Flour Dealers
The Grey Horse Inn was called The Bay Horse in 1823
Glenne House was originally called Albion House
Hillgarth was built in 1938
There was a pub behind Holgate House called The Derwent Inn
Belvoir House Used to be the public house
A Sad Story
Miss Norah Shaw married Henry Barker, a clerk at the Blind Institute in York. Thay rented a cottage opposite the old school
(now the Parish Hall), known as Beech Cottage.
Henry was called up in 1917 and the night before he was due to leave he cut his wife's throat, then his own.
They are buried in the churchyard.
|
 |
Whitehouse Grove is built on the former White House Farm
Brinkworth Hall is built on the former site of an older house
The Larches are built from bricks of the cottages that stood next to Elvington Hall
1935 A seat was doanted by Mrs Wright of Brinkworth Hall, it was sited under a copse ot trees opposite the village pond
(now filled in) and the ancient pinfold, at the foot of Dauby Lane where the ornamental chestnut stands
Laveracks Industrial Estate is where Allisons Brick and Tile works stood
The population in 1851 was 872 and in 1937 it was 361
|